-- euroleague regular season --

The EuroLeague format recently changed for the 2016-2017. The Regular Season now consists of 16 teams in a single group. Each team plays the other twice, home and away, totaling 30 games per team. The top eight teams (based off number of wins) after 30 games advance to the EuroLeague Playoffs.


tie-breaker criteria

If two or more teams are equal on wins, the following criteria are applied to determine the rankings:

  1. Best record in head-to-head games between all tied teams.
  2. Higher cumulative score difference in head-to-head games between all tied teams.
  3. Higher cumulative score difference for the entire Regular Season.
  4. Higher total of points scored for the entire Regular Season.
  5. Higher sum of quotients of points in favor and points against of each match played.

-- EUROLEAGUE playoffs --

The EuroLeague Playoffs consist of the 8 teams that qualified from the Regular Season. The 8 teams are paired with another, based on their rankings from the Regular Season, in a best of 5 game series.  The four winners of each series advance to the EuroLeague Final Four. Below are the series pairings with the higher ranked teams gaining home-court advantage:

  • Playoff A: Regular Season 1st Place  v  Regular Season 8th Place
  • Playoff B: Regular Season 2nd Place  v  Regular Season 7th Place
  • Playoff C: Regular Season 3rd Place  v  Regular Season 6th Place
  • Playoff D: Regular Season 4th Place  v  Regular Season 5th Place

-- EUROLEAGUE final four --

The EuroLeague Final Four is held at a pre-determined location, this year Istanbul on May 19-21, 2017, and consists of the 4 teams that qualified from the EuroLeague Playoffs. Both the Final four (Semi-finals) and Final are a single-game knockout. In the Final Four the winner of Playoff  A will play the winner of Playoff D, whereas the winner of Playoff B will play the winner of Playoff C. The two semi-final winners will play in the Final Four Championship game whereas the two defeated teams will play in the 3rd Place game. The winner of the EuroLeague Final Four is crowned the EuroLeague Champion.