Group of Death with Serbia & Hungary at Olympics

The Greek Men's National Water Polo team was drawn into a tough group for the Group Stage at the Rio Summer Olympics. The World Champions, Serbia and the bronze medalists of the European Championships, Hungary, will stand in Greece's path for a medal in Rio. Japan, Brazil, and Australia are the remaining three teams in Group A. 

It is no surprise that the Greeks are one of the favorites to reach the podium at the Olympics. The Greeks received the bronze medal at the FINA World Championships and fourth place at the 2016 European Championships. They gained automatic qualification for the Olympics for their performance at the World Championships.

From the group stage the top four teams will advance to the quarter-finals. From there, single knockout games will be up played for the gold, silver, and bronze medals. The remaining six teams will play in group B and consist of Croatia, Montenegro, USA, France, Italy, and Spain.  


 Greece's schedule for the group stage is: 

August 6: Greece v Japan
August 8: Serbia v Greece
August 10: Greece v Hungary
August 12: Greece v Brazil
August 14: Australia v Greece


Image source: e-thessalia.gr