The New Euroleague

The new Euroleague has officially been announced. It was known for a while that the format was going to change but it has now been set in stone for next season. The competition will consist of three stages: the regular season, playoffs, and Final-4. Only 16 teams will partake in the Euroleague, opposed to the previous 24 teams. Greece will have a guaranteed two representatives, Olympiacos and Panathinaikos. 

The regular season will consist of one group of all 16 teams. Each team will play the other twice, home and away, resulting in 30 games per team. At the end of the regular season, the top 8 teams will advance to the playoffs to play a best of 5 series (the first to win three games). The four winners will advance to the Final-4 which will consist of only single knockout games.

Instead of 24 teams, the Euroleague has reduced the competition to 16 clubs. They will consist of the 11 teams that have signed a 10-year contract with the competition including: Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, Efes, CSKA Moscow, Armani Milano, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Fenerbahce, Laboral Kutxa, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, and Zalgiris. The 5 other teams will include a team from the Adriatic League, German League, Spanish League, VTB League, and the winner of the previous season's Eurocup.  


Source:; Image source: