Mitroglou & Samaris Lift Portuguese Title With Benfica

Mitroglou & Samaris Lift Portuguese Title With Benfica



Benfica 4 - 1 Nacional

Greek internationals, Kostas Mitroglou and Andreas Samaris, are champions of Portugal! Benfica defeated Nacional 4-1 in the final matchday of the Portuguese Primeira Liga and won the League Title. This is Benfica’s third straight Championship.

Benfica “secured” all three points in the first half going ahead 2-0 with goals from Gaitan and Jonas. In the second half, the Eagles increased their lead to 4-0 and a late consolation goal from Nacional shaped the 4-1 final score. Sporting Lisbon, who finished in second (2 points behind Benfica), did not get the "gift" from Nacional, after their 0-4 victory over Braga. Both Mitroglou and Samaris played an important role in Benfica’s success. Both players were standard starters in Benfica’s line up and Mitroglou was the Eagles second leading scorer with 20 goals. This is Benfica’s 3rd straight title and their 35th in their history.