The Possible Opponents for Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, PAOK

The Possible Opponents for Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, PAOK

Greece will be represented by 3 teams in this year’s UEFA Europa League Group Stages! Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, and PAOK will find out their opponents in today’s Group Stage draw that will be held at 7:00 AM (EST). Olympiacos will be seeded in the 1st pot, PAOK in the second pot, and Panathinaikos will be in the 4th pot.

All three Greek teams qualified for the UEFA Europa League Group Stages after defeating their opponents in the Playoff Qualifying Round. Both Panathinaikos and PAOK comfortably progressed in their second legs while Olympiacos barely escaped from Portuguese side Arouca. The Greek teams will enter today’s Europa League Group Stage draw and will find out their three opponents. Olympiacos will be seeded in the 1st pot, PAOK in the second pot, and Panathinaikos in the 4th pot (barely missing out on the 3rd pot).

For today’s draw procedures, the 48 teams are separated into four pots of 12 teams each, with the “strongest” teams located in pot 1 and the “weaker” teams placed in pot 4 (these are based off of UEFA’ Club Coefficient Rankings). A team from each pot will be drawn into a group (i.e. two teams from the same pot cannot be drawn into the same group). Teams from the same Association (or country) also cannot be drawn in the same group. The draw will produce 12 groups of 4 teams with the top 2 teams at the conclusion of group play, progressing to the round of 32. The possible opponents for the Greek teams are below:



Schalke (GER)
Zenit (RUS)
Manchester United (ENG)
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Athletic Bilbao (ESP)
Olympiacos (GRE)
Villarreal (ESP)
Ajax (NED)
Inter Milan (ITA)
Fiorentina (ITA)
Anderlecht (BEL)
Viktoria Plzen (CZE)



Gent (BEL)
Young Boys (SUI)
Krasnador (RUS)
Rapid Vienna (AUS)
Slovan Liberec (CZE)
Celta (ESP)
Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR)
Feyenoord (NED)
Austria Vienna (AUS)
Mainz (GER)
Zurich (SUI)
Southampton (ENG)



AZ Alkmaar (NED)
Braga (POR)
Salzburg (AUS)
Roma (ITA)
Fenerbahce (TUR)
Sparta Praha (CZE)
Steaua Bucuresti (ROU)
Genk (BEL)
Standard Liege (BEL)
Saint Etienne (FRA)



Panathinaikos (GRE)
Sassuolo (ITA)
Qarabag (AZE)
Astana (KAZ)
Nice (FRA)
Zorya (UKR)
Astra (ROU)
Konyaspor (TUR)
Osmanlispor (TUR)
Qabala (AZE)
Hapoel Be’er Sheva (ISR)
Dundalk (IRE)

Image Source: sportfm.gr
Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook and follow us on  Instagram for all the latest news in Greek Sports!