APOEL finish season with emphatic win over AEL

APOEL finish season with emphatic win over AEL


APOEL 4 - 0 AEL Limassol
Bezjak 28',57'
Aloneftis 69'
Balogh 76'

Champions APOEL Nicosia closed up the season with a 4:0 home win over AEL Limassol at the GSP Stadium.

Watch LIVE GREEK TV including full GREEK SPORTS coverage from AGONASport.com! 

In an indifferent match, both Paolo Tramezzani and Dusan Kerkez used many non-starting line up players as well as young prospects. Roman Bezjak scored APOEL’s two first goals and Stathis Aloneftis and Norbert Balogh scored two more to form the final 4:0 scoreline.

APOEL were awarded the championship trophy after the game as token of their seventh straight title.

The two teams will now turn their attention to their upcoming clash Cup Final clash on Wednesday.


The first minutes saw an open game as both teams played without pressure. An effort from Bezjak was blocked, while an effort from Giorgos Efraim went wide before the 10 minute mark. Soon on the other side, Marko Aganovic and Leandro Silva tested Rafael Romo without success.

APOEL found the breakthrough in the 27th minute when Giorgos Efraim dribbled past Ion Gaztanaga and served an assist to Bezjak, who beat Patryk Procek. Nothing changed in the remainder of the first half as APOEL took a one goal lead into half-time.

The upbeat tempo kept up early into the second half with Balogh creating the first chance, seeing his close-ranged shot blocked in the 50th minute. Three minutes later, Nestoras Mytides had an effort but Romo was ready for it.

In the 56th minute, Stathis Aloneftis received the ball from Balogh and sent in a cross, Procek attempted to clear it away, but onlyto find Bezjak, who doubled his goals on the night.

Ten minutes later, it Aloneftis was again in the action. The veteran Cypriot winger was brought down by Jarcinho Antonia and a penalty was awarded. Aloneftis took the spot kick, beating Procek to score APOEL’s third goal of the night.

In the 75th minute, Procek stopped an effort from Efraim, however Balogh took the rebound to solidify APOEL’s emphatic 4:0 win..

APOEL: Rafael Romo (GK), Giorgos Merkis (Loukas Kalogirou), Paris Polykarpou, Mickael Facchinetti, Kostakis Artymatas, Juan Cascini, Ghayas Zahid (Nuno Morais), Giorgos Efraim, Stathis Aloneftis, Roman Bezjak (Andreas Artemiou), Norbert Balogh

AEL: Patryk Procek (GK), Charalambos Kyriakou, Leandro Silva, Ion Gaztanaga (Davor Zdravkovski), Fidelis Irhene, Christos Wheeler (Konstantinos Michaelides), Jarcinho Antonia, Giannis Gerolemou, Boris Godal, Adnan Aganovic, Nestoras Mytides (Ruben Jurado)



Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!