Euroleague to increase to 18 teams starting 2019/2020 Season

Euroleague to increase to 18 teams starting 2019/2020 Season

The Euroleague will increase from 16 to 18 teams starting the 2019/20 season.

Watch LIVE from game 1 of the EuroLeague Playoffs between Panathinaikos & Real Madrid on Tuesday, April 17th!

Starting the 2019/20 season, the Euroleague will consist of 18 teams (as opposed to the current 16 teams) in a decision that was made in Thursday’s meeting in Madrid. The two teams will come from Germany and France. 

Germany’s representative will be Bayern Munich, who will sign on with a 2-year wild card contract while France’s representative is likely to be ASVEL Basket, a club owned and coached by former NBA star, Tony Parker. The French side is rumored to sign a similar 2-year wild card contract with the Euroleague. 

The 2018/19 Euroleague season will continue with 16 teams with the current format, consisting of 30 regular season games, followed by a best of 5 playoff series, and a single game knockout Final-4. There have been no indications that the competition’s format will change when the two additional teams are added. 

There are also no reports as to what will happen if Panathinaikos decide to withdraw from the league after club president, Dimitris Giannakopoulos, tore ties with Euroleague during Thursday’s meeting. 

The current Euroleague of 16 teams consists of 11 contract bound clubs (Anadolu Efes, Baskonia, CSKA Moscow, Barcelona, Fenerbahce, Maccabi Tel Aviv, Olimpia Milan, Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, Real Madrid, Zalgiris), the winner of the Eurocup, champion of the Adriatic League, the champion of the VTB League (or the finalist if CSKA win the championship), champion of the German Basketball Bundesliga, and the highest ranked club in Spain (excluding the contract bounded teams Barcelona, Real Madrid, Baskonia).

Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!