Four members have hand in all seven of Olympiacos’ league titles since 2013

Four members have hand in all seven of Olympiacos’ league titles since 2013

Four members of the Olympiacos water polo team have had their hand in all seven of the club’s A1 league titles since 2013.

Watch LIVE GREEK TV including full GREEK SPORTS coverage from AGONASport.com! 

On Monday, Olympiacos defeated Vouliagmeni 7:11 in game four of the A1 Water Polo League finals to win the series 3-1 and celebrate their seventh (!) straight league title. The triumph marks the club’s 33rd domestic league triumph, the most out of any other club in the country.

It is the second time in Olympiacos’ history that the Reds have lifted the league title in seven consecutive seasons. The first span of dominance lasted from 1999-2005 before being dethroned by local rivals Ethnikos Piraeus.

Olympiacos have not had an opponent in Greece since 2013, when their new seven consecutive title streak began. Since then, the Erythrolefki recorded 163 consecutive wins, spanning over six years, until game two of this year’s A1 League finals when Vouliagmeni dramatically defeated Olympiacos in penalties.

Four members of the Olympiacos team have been with the club to celebrate all seven championships. The mastermind of the Piraeus giants, head coach Thodoris Vlachos, has coached the club since 2011, leading them to their reign of dominance from 2013-2019 while also leading Olympiacos to the European championship last season. Vlachos is the first Olympiacos coach to help the club to seven consecutive league titles, breaking Vaggelis Pateros’ record of five straight titles as head coach.

Vaggelis Delakas, currently the club’s assistant coach, celebrated his first title as a coach this year to add to his collection of six straight titles as a player from 2013-2018.

In the pool, two faces of the club, Giannis Fountoulis and Kostas Mourikis, have played an integral part in Olympiacos’ success over the years. The two have also been around to witness and celebrate the last seven league titles.


Image Source: TO10.GR

Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!