Marcus Berg Claims Superleague’s Top Scorer Honor

Marcus Berg Claims Superleague’s Top Scorer Honor

Marcus Berg’s 22 goals with Panathinaikos this season deservedly earned him the Superleague’s Top Scorer Honor. 

WATCH via LIVE STREAM from AGONAsport the Greek Cup Final between PAOK and AEK on Saturday May 6th. Purchase and details here...

Berg’s last goal against Larisa sealed the honor leaving behind him Hamza Younés of Xanthi with 19 goals. Pedro Conde of PAS Giannina finished in third place along with former Olympiacos player Ideye Brown (left in January transfer window) with 13 goals.

Berg is the 8th player in Panathinaikos’ history to finish as the league’s top scorer. The previous seven players include Nikos Lymberopoulos, Djibril Cisse, Krzysztof Warzycha, Fanis Gekas, Dimitris Saravakos, Antonis Antoniadis, and Grigoris Charalambidis.

The Swede’s 22 goals are the most by a single player in a Superleague season since 2009-2010, where Djibril Cisse scored 23 goals for Panathinaikos. 

The Superleague’s Top Scorer since 2009/10:
2010-2011: Djibril Cisse (Panathinaikos): 20
2011-2012: Kevin Mirallas (Olympiacos): 20
2012-2013: Rafik Djebbour (Olympiacos): 20
2013-2014: Esteban Solari (Xanthi): 16
2014-2015: Jerónimo Barrales (Asteras Tripolis): 17
2015-2016: Kostas Fortounis (Olympiacos): 18

by: Dimitris Spiridakos
Image Source:
Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!