Nikopolidis ranked 23rd best goalkeeper between 2001-2010

Nikopolidis ranked 23rd best goalkeeper between 2001-2010

In a recent study conducted by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS), Greek legend Antonios Nikopolidis was declared the 23rd best goalkeeper between 2001 and 2010. 76 goaltenders were included in the list.

WATCH Greek Sports and much more from any device with LIVE GREEK TV from AGONAsport! Details and purchase here!

The 47-year old Nikopolidis enjoyed a hugely successful playing career at the top level, notably steering Greece to a stunning Euro 2004 triumph while winning a combined eleven Greek championships with Panathinaikos and Olympiacos, nine Greek Cups and three Greek Super Cups. Nikopolidis hung up his boots in 2011 after seven years with Olympiacos, then moving into management.

Being named in the top 23 goalkeepers during the first decade of the 21st century is another achievement which Nikopolidis can be proud of. Italian World Cup winner Gianluigi Buffon was placed in first, with Iker Casillas and Petr Cech completing the top three.

For the study, the IFFHS used a points system based upon results and player statistics.

IFFHS best goalkeepers between 2001-2010:

1. Gianluigi Buffon
2. Iker Casillas
3. Petr Cech
4. Oliver Kahn
5. Edwin van der Sar
6. Dida
7. Jens Lehmann
8. Roberto Abbondanzieri
9. Fabien Barthez
10. Rogerio Ceni
23. Antonios Nikopolidis
76.. Carlos Idriss Kameni

by Shaun Nicolaides
Image Source:
Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!