Olympiacos Confirmed Champions, Playoffs Begin Sunday

Olympiacos Confirmed Champions, Playoffs Begin Sunday

During today’s Superleague Board of Directors meeting, the official Superleague standings were validated, confirming Olympiacos as champions of the 2016/17 Superleague season. The playoffs will begin this Sunday.

WATCH Greek Sports and much more, including the Superleague playoffs, from any device with LIVE GREEK TV from AGONAsport! Details and purchase here…

The Greek Superleague standings were validated during today's Superleague Board of Directors meeting with the vote ending 9 in favor and 3 against. The vote officially confirmed Olympiacos as champions for the 2016/17n season. 

PAOK, Kerkyra, and Larissa voted against the validation while Olympiacos, Panathinaikos, AEK Panionios, Xanthi, Atromitos, Panaitolikos, Iraklis, and Asteras Tripolis voted in favor. PAS Giannina, Platanias, and Veria were not present while Levadiakos did not vote.

Additionally, it was decided that the Superleague playoffs between PAOK, Panathinaikos, AEK, and Panionios will kick off this Sunday.

Finally, the date for next season’s Superleague kickoff was set for August 19th.

Source: superleaguegreece.gr
Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world!
Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!