Olympiacos Unbeaten For Four Years in Domestic Competitions

Olympiacos Unbeaten For Four Years in Domestic Competitions

The Olympiacos Men’s Water Polo team has remained unbeaten for four years in all domestic competitions, including the Greek A1 Water Polo League and Greek Water Polo Cup.

WATCH Matchday 1 of the Greek SuperLeague Playoffs LIVE from AGONAsport! Details and purchase here… 

Earlier this week, Olympiacos defeated Vouliagmeni 12-4 to claim their 5th straight Greek A1 Water Polo League title, sweeping their opponents 3-0 in the best of five series. The 5th consecutive league title came after yet another undefeated regular season for the Erythrolefki.

Even more impressive than their 5 straight league titles is the fact that Olympiacos have not tasted defeat in domestic play since May 8, 2013, which was over FOUR years ago! Then, Vouliagmeni defeated Olympiacos 7-5 in the first game of the Greek Water Polo League Finals, however Olympiacos went on to win the next three games and claim the 2013 league title.

The team from Piraeus have won 17 of the last 19 league championships only failing to do so in 2005/06 to Ethnikos Piraeus and 2011/2012 to Vouliagmeni, losing in the finals series 3-2. In addition to their dominance in the league, Olympiacos have won the last 14 out of 16 Greek Cups and are on pace to win their 5th straight Cup title in the upcoming week. 

After the conclusion of the cup, the Erythrolefki will turn their attention to the LEN Champions League Final-6 where they will look to be crowned champions of Europe for the second time in the club’s history. Last season, they were defeated in the final to finish second in the competition and this year there is only one goal, to go one step further and win the European Championship.

Image Source: sportfm.gr
Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world!
Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!