Strongest lineup ever ahead of season 4 in Basketball Champions League

Strongest lineup ever ahead of season 4 in Basketball Champions League

The rise of the Basketball Champions League will continue in the fourth edition of the competition, with the new season housing its strongest lineup of teams ever in the history of the competition.

Watch LIVE GREEK TV including full GREEK SPORTS coverage from! 

With 23 clubs out of the 24 in the Regular Season having played in their national Play-Offs and 18 of them having finished in the top-five, the lineup of the fourth season of the Basketball Champions League is the strongest ever in the history of the competition.

Furthermore, 16 current national champions are among the 48 clubs representing 28 different European countries which will take part in the 2019-20 Basketball Champions League. The competition will get underway on 17 September with the first of two qualifying rounds ahead of Regular Season tip-off on 15 October.

This year, 32 teams will contest the Regular Season with eight qualifiers joining 24 directly qualified clubs. They will play in four groups of eight teams each, with the top four in each group going through to best-of-3 round of 16 and quarter-finals that will determine the Final Four. The overall winner will earn the coveted €1 million prize money.

Greece will have three representatives in this year’s competitions, all of which will gain automatic entry to the regular season, avoiding the qualifying rounds altogether. They include AEK, Peristeri, and PAOK, while Promitheas, who finished second in the league this past season, will compete in the second tier EuroLeague competition, the EuroCup.

The draw for the regular season took place on 4 July. 

The full line-up is as follows (alphabetically, per country):

Regular Season (alphabetically)

AEK (GRE), Anwil Wloclawek (POL), Bandirma BK (TUR), Basket Zaragoza (ESP), BAXI Manresa (ESP), Besiktas Sompo Japan (TUR), Brose Bamberg (GER), CEZ Nymburk (CZE), Dinamo Banco di Sardegna Sassari (ITA), Elan Béarnais Pau-Lacq-Orthez (FRA), Filou Oostende (BEL), Gaziantep (TUR), Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem (ISR), Happy Casa Brindisi (ITA), Iberostar Tenerife (ESP), JDA Dijon (FRA), Neptunas Klaipeda (LTU), PAOK (GRE), Peristeri Vikos Cola (GRE), RASTA Vechta (GER), SIG Strasbourg (FRA), Turk Telekom (TUR), UNET Holon (ISR), VEF Riga (LAT).

First Qualifying round (the 8 winners will qualify for the 2nd round): 

Bakken Bears (DEN), Balkan Botevgrad (BUL), CSM CSU Oradea (ROU), Donar Groningen (NED), Falco Szombathely (HUN), Fribourg Olympic (SUI), Inter Bratislava (SVK), Kapfenberg Bulls (AUT), Karhu Basket Kauhajoki (FIN), Keravnos (CYP), Kyiv-Basket (UKR), Legia Warszawa (POL), SL Benfica (POR), Södertälje Kings (SWE), Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR), Z-Mobile Prishtina (KOS).

Second Qualifying round (the 8 winners qualify for the Regular Season):

Lietkabelis (LTU), Mornar Bar (MNE), Nizhny Novgorod (RUS), Polski Cukier Torun (POL), San Pablo Burgos (ESP), Telekom Baskets Bonn (GER), Telenet Giants Antwerp (BEL), Ventspils (LAT).

Basketball Champions League CEO Patrick Comninos said the 2019-20 lineup is evidence that the competition is strengthening and growing based on all measures. It remains true to its goal of delivering a competitive European competition which reflects basketball right across the continent and is open to all clubs which qualify on merit through their domestic league performances.

"The first three seasons of the competition were an outstanding success and the strength of this year's field suggests that it will get even tougher on the court and even more fascinating for hundreds of thousands of fans across Europe who follow at arenas, through great TV coverage and via social media," he said.


by Sarantos Kaperonis

Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!