Super League participant list to be gradually reduced

Super League participant list to be gradually reduced

At Wednesday’s crucial board meeting, the Super League future for the next three seasons was laid out on the table, but the broadcasting contract issue is still yet to be resolved.

Watch the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Greek Commentary with the AGONAsport TV 2018 World Cup Pass. All matches included Details here!

Recently, Deputy Greek Minister of Culture and Sport George Vassiliadis and the Super League organisation voiced their differing outlooks on the championship’s future, but an agreement concerning the amount of participating clubs has finally been struck. In an official statement, the Super League confirmed that 16 teams will compete in the upcoming 2018/2019 season, before that number is gradually reduced from 14 to 12 in the next two years. Here is the press-release in detail:

“At today’s meeting, the Super League’s Board of Directors have decided the following:

The league’s new members, Aris and OFI, were unanimously registered.
It was unanimously decided that the 2018/2019 season will have 16 participating teams and the 2019/2020 season will have 14 participating teams. Also, there was a unanimous agreement to consider the option of reducing the amount of participating teams to 12 for the 2020/2021 season. This will be considered in cooperation with all relevant parties.”

However, while the uncertainty connected with Super League participants has eased, the ongoing problem with broadcasting contracts continues. Unfortunately, despite the issue being discussed at the board meeting, no potential resolution was found and there is a high possibility that the seven clubs without a television contract will prevent the championship from starting on time. At the moment, the 2018/2019 Super League is scheduled to begin on August 25. 

In order for Vassiliadis’ proposal to have 12 teams in the 2020/2021 Super League to become a reality, at least 12 of the current 16 clubs in the championship must approve of the idea. So far, only eight teams have given the green light: AEK, Panathinaikos, Aris, Asteras Tripolis, Atromitos, Panetolikos, PAS Giannina and Xanthi. 

by Shaun Nicolaides
Image Source:
Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on  Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!