The dominant Greek clubs

The dominant Greek clubs

As Olympiacos won their seventh consecutive A1 Water Polo League title in men’s water polo and will be going for their second consecutive LEN Champions League title later this week, AGONAsport looks back on various Greek clubs that have dominated their respective sports.

Watch LIVE GREEK TV including full GREEK SPORTS coverage from AGONASport.com! 


In men’s basketball, Panathinaikos have won the Greek Basket League a record 36 times. They won their first title in the 1945-46 season, and the most consecutive titles they have won is nine (from 2002-03 to 2010-11).

They have also won the Greek Cup a record 19 times. The first came in 1978-79, and the most consecutive Greek Cups they have won is six, from 2011-12 to 2016-17. At the

European level, they have reached the EuroLeague Final Four 11 times, winning the title in six of them.


Despite having finished a second consecutive season without a trophy, Olympiacos have dominated Greek football over the years. The Reds have won 44 league titles, the most out of any other club in Greece. In fact, Olympiacos have more league titles than all the other clubs combined! The Piraeus giants have won the league title seven straight seasons on two different occasions, from 1997-2003 and 2011-2017.

Olympiacos also have 27 Greek Cups to their name, the most out of any other club, with their longest winning streak at six, from 1957-1963 (1962 the final between Olympiacos and Panathinaikos was abandoned).


Olympiacos have dominated men’s volleyball in Greece. The Erythrolefki have won the Greek Volley League a record 29 times. Their first title came in the 1967-68 season, and they have won as many as eight consecutive titles, from 1986-87 to 1993-94.

They also hold a record of 16 Greek Cups, winning their first in 1980-81. Their longest streak is seven titles, from 1988-89 to 1998-99 (the Greek Cup was not held every year back then).

In Europe, Olympiacos has won the CEV Cup twice, and made the Final Four of the CEV Champions League seven times (including four in a row from 1991-92 to 1994-95).


Men’s water polo is another sport where Olympiacos have been extremely successful in Greece. Olympiacos won their first league title back in 1926-27, and have won a total of 33. Their longest streak is seven, which they have done twice (1998-99 to 2004-05, and 2012-13 to now).

They have also won a record 20 Greek Cups, with the first coming in 1991-92, and won as many as six in a row from 2005-06 to 2010-11.

Olympiacos have won the LEN Champions League on two occasions, in 2001-02 and 2017-18 and will look for their third title in a few days at the Final-8 in Hannover.


Outside of powerhouses Olympiacos and Panathinaikos, small Glyfada have also done exceptionally well, particularly in women’s water polo. Glyfada have won the Greek domestic league eight times, including four consecutive titles from 1998-99 to 2001-02, after winning their first in the 1988-89 season.

In Europe, Glyfada had made it to the Final Four of the Euro League Women five times in a row, a record for Greek clubs. In those five appearances, they won the title twice, in 1999-00 and 2002-03.


Image Source: gazzetta.gr

Thank you for visiting AGONAsport.com, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!