THRYLOS with 12 European Titles

THRYLOS with 12 European Titles

With European titles in women’s volleyball and men’s water polo this year, Olympiacos have won their 11th and 12th European trophies in club history. Following the club’s achievements, AGONAsport’s Andrew Stamas takes a look back at each of Olympiacos’ 12 European titles.

Watch the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Greek Commentary with the AGONAsport TV 2018 World Cup Pass. All matches included Details here!

As a matter of fact, Olympiacos have won 12 of Greece’s 39 European titles in club competitions across all sports.

#1: 1995/1996 Cup Winners’ Cup (Men’s Volleyball)


On March 10, 1996, on Olympiacos’ 71st anniversary as a club, the Erythrolefki defeated Germany’s Bayer Wuppertal 3-2 in front of a packed Peace and Friendship Stadium (SEF) in the final of the Cup Winners’ Cup. At the conclusion of the match, fans stormed the court to celebrate their club’s first European trophy in any sport.

#2: 1996/1997 Euroleague (Men’s Basketball)


On April 24, 1997, Olympiacos’ men’s basketball team defeated Barcelona 73-58 in the final at the Euroleague Final Four in Rome. Not only was this Olympiacos’ first European title in basketball, but it was extra special considering the team had been one loss away from elimination in the group stage.

#3: 2001/2002 LEN Champions League (Men’s Water Polo)


On May 25, 2002, Olympiacos defeated Final Four hosts Honved in Budapest by a score of 9-7 to capture the first European title in men’s water polo in club history and third European trophy across all sports.

#4: 2002 LEN Super Cup (Men’s Water Polo)


As winners of the Champions League, Olympiacos faced LEN Cup Winners’ Cup champions Vasas in the LEN Super Cup. The Erythrolefki would go on to get a 6-5 win over the Hungarians in Budapest.

#5: 2004/2005 CEV Top Teams Cup (Men’s Volleyball)


Olympiacos defeated Ortec Nesselande of the Netherlands 3-0 at SEF to win the CEV Top Teams Cup for the second time, as it had previously been known as the Cup Winners’ Cup back in 1996 when they won for the first time.

#6: 2011/2012 Euroleague (Men’s Basketball)


Olympiacos trailed 34-53 towards the end of the third quarter of the Euroleague final against CSKA Moscow, who had beaten the Erythrolefki twice in the group stage. Missed free throws from the Russians and a memorable buzzer beater by Giorgos Printezis gave Olympiacos a stunning and historic 62-61 come from behind win.

#7: 2012/2013 Euroleague (Men’s Basketball)


Olympiacos trailed by as many as 17 against Real Madrid in the final of the Euroleague, but completed an epic comeback for the second year in a row, as they won 100-88 to successfully defend their title, becoming the first and only team to win back to back Euroleague titles.

#8: 2013/2014 LEN Trophy (Women’s Water Polo)

Olympiacos faced Final Four hosts Firenze for the LEN Trophy title. The Greeks would edge the Italians 10-9 to win the club’s first European trophy in a women’s sport.


#9: 2014/2015 LEN Euro League Women (Women’s Water Polo)


Olympiacos, who were hosting the Final Four in Piraeus, took on two-time defending champions Sabadell from Spain in the final of the top-tier European competition for women’s water polo. After trailing 1-4 early on, the Erythrolefkes were able to rally back to take a 5-4 lead. They would later trail 8-9, only to come back once again and win 10-9, thanks to a goal from captain Triantafyllia Manolioudaki with just 33 seconds left.

#10: 2015 LEN Super Cup (Women’s Water Polo)


On November 20, 2015, Olympiacos defeated LEN Trophy winners Plebiscito Padova of Italy 10-6 in Piraeus to capture the LEN Super Cup. This would be Olympiacos’ third European trophy in women’s water polo in just 19 months.

#11: 2017/2018 CEV Women’s Challenge Cup (Women’s Volleyball)


After losing 2-3 in the home leg, Olympiacos won 3-1 in the away leg against Turkey’s Bursa to capture the CEV Women’s Challenge Cup title. This would mark the first European trophy for Olympiacos in women’s volleyball, and was extra special after losing in the final the previous year to the same team.

#12: 2017/2018 LEN Champions League (Men’s Water Polo)


On June 9, 2018, Olympiacos defeated Italy’s Pro Recco 9-7 in Italy in the final of the LEN Champions League. This would mark the third European trophy in club history in men’s water polo.


by Andrew Stamas

Image Source:

Thank you for visiting, the only English based website for Greek sports fans across the world! Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram, and Twitter for all the latest news in Greek Sports!